Synthesia has three different categories of licenses. The license types determine if a seat is paid or free and whether the associated users can perform certain actions within Synthesia.

The three license types are:

- **Full license**: this is a paid license. Users on this license are able to take all actions available to their role and permission level.
- **Free license**: this is not a paid license and can be self upgraded to a full license. Users on this license are also able to take all actions but some actions auto-upgrade the license to full. Free license can only be assigned when a user first joins e.g., via default license type. Once a free license has been changed to restricted or full, it can’t be reassigned.
- **Restricted license**: this is not a paid license and can't be self upgraded to a full license. Users on this license are able to take a limited number of actions.

## Licenses options

Find in this section more detail upon what each license has the option to do.

- ✅ = users can perform action with this license type.
- 🆙 = users can perform action but doing so will auto-upgrade their license to full.
- 🙋 = users cannot perform action, but can request an upgrade to full license.

### Videos

| Actions | Full License | Free License | Restricted License |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Create & Generate videos | ✅ | 🆙 Auto-upgrade action | 🙋 Request to upgrade |
| Edit video scenes | ✅ | 🆙 Auto-upgrade action | 🙋 Request to upgrade |
| Edit scripts | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| Add screen recordings | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| View & Comment videos | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| Share & publish videos | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| Move videos | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| Delete & restore videos | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| Download videos | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| Duplicate videos | ✅ | 🆙 Auto-upgrade action | 🙋 Request to upgrade |

> 📌
>
> Free and restricted license members can edit scripts and add screen recordings only when a full license member shares a video with them and grants `edit` or `full access` permission. This applies to workspace members — guests cannot edit scripts or add screen recordings, regardless of permission.

### Folders

| Actions | Full License | Free License | Restricted License |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Create folders | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| Delete & restore folders | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |

### Templates

| Actions | Full License | Free License | Restricted License |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Create & edit templates | ✅ | 🆙 Auto-upgrade action | 🙋 Request to upgrade |
| View templates | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| Download templates | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| Delete & restore templates | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |

### Library

| Actions | Full License | Free License | Restricted License |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Upload assets | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| Download assets | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| Delete assets | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |

### Brand kits

| Actions | Full License | Free License | Restricted License |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Create brand kits | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| Edit brand kits | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| Delete brand kits | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |

### Glossary

> 📘
>
> Workspace Members can edit the Glossary if the ​ **Restricted Glossary Management​** toggle is `OFF`. If that toggle is `ON`, only admins can edit the Glossary.

| Actions | Full License | Free License | Restricted License |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Add terms | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| Edit terms | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| Delete terms | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| Import terms | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| Export terms | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |

### Avatars & Voices

| Actions | Full License | Free License | Restricted License |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Create custom avatars | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| Request custom avatars | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| Preview avatars | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| Create voices & voice clones | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |

## Assigning Licenses

If you are on a plan which doesn't provision a shared workspace, license assignment is done automatically. You can see the license type for each member or guest from the members page in Workspace settings.

If you are on a plan which provisions a shared workspace, Workspace Admins can control the license assignment.

Admins can pre-set the license type for all new members in Settings (not guests). By default:

- Workspace members are on a free license
- Guest members are on a restricted license.

Admins are able to change user license type (including their own) from the Workspace Settings section in Synthesia.

## Upgrading a License

Free or restricted licenses can only be upgraded if you are on a plan that provisions a shared workspace and allows multiple full licenses.

### Free License

This license is auto upgraded to full as soon as the user takes an 🆙 Auto-upgrade action as shown in the tables above. Once upgraded to full, a user can’t be downgraded to a free license again.

When on a free license, a user can be added to a video with full-access, editor, or commenter permission without requiring an upgrade upfront.

### Restricted License

User on a restricted license can request an upgrade by performing a [🙋 Request to upgrade action](https://help.synthesia.io/en/articles/10275262-how-do-i-upgrade-from-a-restricted-license). On taking any of these actions, an upgrade modal is shown through which the user can send a license upgrade request to the Workspace admins. This request must be approved by an Admin to trigger the upgrade to a full license.

## Downgrading a License

Both full and free licenses users can be downgraded to a restricted license.

- By a Workspace Admin in the [Workspace Settings section](https://docs.synthesia.io/docs/workspace-settings#member-management).
- By an Organization Admin in the [Organization Settings section](https://docs.synthesia.io/docs/organization-settings#organization-members).

Notes:

1. Downgrading a user to a restricted license won’t change the video or folder level permission for the user.
2. The Workspace/Organization Setting section is also where you would remove a user from the current Workspace/Organization.
